As of September 2016, Science from Scientists (SfS) now operates in three states: California, Massachusetts and Minnesota. These states have different sets of standards and achievement benchmarks for curriculum. In response to these different standards, SfS has created a spreadsheet that lists all lessons in our lesson library and has matched relevant standards both nationally – Next Generation Science Standards (NGSS) – and from each state: the California NGS Standards, the Massachusetts STE Standards, and the Minnesota Science Standards.

SfS Standards Lessons AY18

How to read the spreadsheet – General Users:

As you navigate through the following tabs, note that each set of standards can be found on each tab. Scroll to the right to find your preferred set of standards and scroll down to see our lessons matched with standards.

Each tab corresponds to a different topic (Chemistry, Physics etc. – these are the same topics listed on our website). Topics are in alphabetical order.

Each tab contains a section for each of the four sets of standards listed above.

Each column heading in blue text (specifically B, D, F, I) will bring you to the source of that set of standards if you click on it.

The standards that are in tandem (by row) are standards that relate to one another; we see these standards as addressing the same topic/content area across states.


For CA Users:

Unlike Massachusetts and Minnesota, California standards listed on this spreadsheet have an additional column listing specific grades for that standard.

For MA Users:

You will notice that MA codes look similar to NGSS codes but contain an additional digit to the left. This digit specifies what grade that standard is geared towards in MA. For example, 7.MS-ETS1-4 is specifically for MA 7th graders, leaving out the other traditional middle school grades (6th and 8th).

There are some codes that look different from the NGSS format; these are the new Digital Literacy and Computer Science standards that MA has adopted. MA is the only state listed here that contains these standards. Example: DLCS 6-8.CT.c.2: Describe how computers store, manipulate, and transfer data types and files (e.g., integers, real numbers, Boolean Operators) in a binary system

For MN Users:

In some cases, there are multiple MN standards for one NGS standard; due to the specificity of some MN standards, we felt that more than one standard at a time applied to the more general NGS standard.